Crater Lakes backpacking and fishing

Friday, July 22 to Saturday, July 23, 2011

Crater Lakes, James Peak Wilderness

My friend Colin joined me for a short overnight backpacking trip to the Crater Lakes in the James Peak Wilderness west of Rollinsville, Colo. Perfect temperatures and trout jumping out of the water combined for a great weekend.

I usually bring about a dozen flies with me, and they weren’t the right ones this time. Despite the enthusiasm the fish had for the real bugs in the air, they didn’t care for the flies I had to offer. I caught only one small greenback.

Trip Summary

Putting the Tenkara rod to the test

Destination: Crater Lakes, James Peak Wilderness west of Rollinsville, Colo.

Distance hiked: about 6 miles round-trip

Elevation: started from East Portal Trailhead at 9,200 feet, camped at first couple of lakes at about 10,600 feet

Temperatures: mid-70s in the day; mid-40s at night

Pack Weight: 25 to 30 pounds (carrying whole tent, food for two, etc.)

Notes: Bring more dry flies and make sure they’re small. Like a couple of weeks ago, the fly that worked best was a Sakasa Kebari reverse hackle with size 16 hook. Floatant would have been good. My little blue Kebari wouldn’t float after that greenback had slimed it.

Photos

The trout were jumping, but I had too few dry fly patterns with me. I caught only one greenback.

Leave a comment